Leeton Shire Council has 9 Councillors who are elected every four years through the Local Government elections. The election for the current term of Council was held on 4 December 2021.

The Councillors elect the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor. The Mayoral term is two years. Councillors can choose the term for the Deputy Mayor. Council is currently making that a two-year term too.